City Council

 2020 Election

 2016 Election


 Committees, Boards, Commissions

 Committee Application Form

 Civic Award Nomination Form

 Certificate of Achievement form

 Council Meetings

 Council Meeting Highlights

 Members of Council

 Mission, Vision, Values

See Also…

City Departments

Municipal Manuals

City of Yorkton
PO Box 400
Yorkton, SK S3N 2W3
Tel: (306) 786-1717
Fax: (306) 786-6880

City Council

Watch LIVE Council MeetingsClick to view Live and Past Council Meetings

City Council consists of a Mayor and six Councillors, elected for a term of four years beginning in 2016.  To be eligible to run for Mayor or Councillor of Yorkton, a person must be a Canadian citizen, at least eighteen years of age, and have lived in the City of Yorkton for at least three months and in the Province of Saskatchewan for six months immediately preceding the day of the election.  The only people not allowed to run for Office are judges of a court or an auditor or solicitor of a municipality.

The Province of Saskatchewan, through The Cities Act and, to a lesser extent, The Planning and Development Act, 2007 sets out the powers of municipal governments.

City Council has no powers regarding education, other than collecting taxes on behalf of the Public and Separate School Boards.

The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the City.  The City Manager is the Chief Administrative Officer of the City and is in charge of day-to-day City operations and employees.

City Council meetings commence on the second Monday of January in each calendar year at 5:00 p.m. in Council Chambers at City Hall, and on every third Monday thereafter. Should a scheduled date coincide with a statutory or civic holiday, the meeting will proceed on the next following business day.  Please see the 2020 Council Meeting Calendar for specific meeting dates.

Council passed the 2020 Council Meeting Calendar on July 29, 2019.

Presenting to City Council - Information Brochure

All decisions of Council are by majority vote.

.View City of Yorkton Organizational Chart

  Note that you will need Adobe Acrobat to view PDF files on this page. Download Adobe Acrobat.

The next Regular Meeting of Council will be held on Monday, August 10, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. in Council Chambers at City Hall.

Yorkton City Council

The current Yorkton City Council was sworn in Tuesday, November 1, 2016.  Shown left to right are:

Councillor Mitch Hippsley, Councillor Randy Goulden, Councillor Aaron Kienle, Mayor Bob Maloney, Councillor Quinn Haider, Councillor Ken Chyz and Councillor Darcy Zaharia.

Would you like the Mayor or a member of City Council
to attend an upcoming event?
Click here to download the form