Civic Recognition Awards Winners 2021

City of Yorkton Logo

2021 marks the fourth annual Civic Recognition Awards. The awards recognize recipients in three categories, ('Adult,' 'Youth' and 'Group"), who have given selfless support, and made contributions for the betterment of the City of Yorkton. 

This year, there were unfortunately no Youth Category submissions. Therefore the Committee opted to select an additional recipient from the "Group" Category.  

Adult Civic Recognition Category Winner

Dave Blommaert is the 2021 Adult Civic Recognition Award winner. Dave in his work, hobbies, personal life and Yorkton Lions has always been a "go to" person. He has worked tirelessly for the Yorkton Community and is a true ambassador for Yorkton. 

In addition to being a Lions member for over 30 years, Dave has been involved with Yorkton Minor Hockey, a Director of Yorkton Minor Baseball and could often be found helping out with coaching, organizing tournaments, bottle drives, hot dog sales, selling tickets or just offering help wherever needed. Dave has canvassed for the Heart & Stroke Association, the Cancer Society and the United Way. He helps out with distributing Daffodils for the Cancer Society annually. Dave volunteers with the Health Foundation at their fundraising events and even dedicates time to cutting grass at a rural cemetery. 

Congratulations Dave! 

Group Civic Recognition Category Winner 1

Yorkton Legion - Honouring Our Veterans Banner Project is the first 2021 Group Civic Recognition Award Winner.

The Legion Banner Committee members include Tamara Hall, Shawn Hall, Brittany Johnson, Ken Gordon, Perry Ostapowich, Geoffery Rushowick, David Balysky, Chad McDowell, Peter Wyatt, and Karen Parker. 

The Honouring Our Veterans Banner Project includes recognition to veterans who have a connection to the city of Yorkton and Treaty 4 area; embracing those who lived and worked here, whether they have served as Canadian military, medics, firefighters or RCMP. It also includes service-people from elsewhere who have area friends and family wishing to honour and remember them. 

This team of visionaries deserves celebrating. Their commitment to see the banner program as a legacy project that will continue to evolve and grow over time speaks to younger generations of the importance of always remembering. 


Group Civic Recognition Category Winner 2

Yorkton Brick Mill Heritage Society Committee is the second 2021 Group Civic Recognition Award Winner.

This committee was formed in 2011 to save the Yorkton Brick Flour Mill which is the only brick mill left in Saskatchewan as the remaining mills are wooden. Committee members have been involved with many clubs, associations or volunteer organizations in the city of Yorkton. This past year they hosted a Road Rally which involved thirteen different organizations.

Work is ongoing for the mill. This past year the first floor and basement of the Brick Mill have been cleaned and painted, wooden window frames have been installed and a concrete pad was poured to hold a table shaped like a millstone. In September 2021, the committee planned and organized an event for Culture Days at the site of the mill. Four hands-on agriculture displays were set up and included wheat straw weaving, grain identification, historical signs tours, and bread making in a bag.

Through individual members, activities, interaction with clubs and associations, the media, work parties, sign boards, fundraising and the physical stabilization of the building, Yorkton and district have become aware of the mill and the dominant part it played in our agricultural community. The Yorkton Brick Flour Mill Heritage Society are to be commended in its efforts to preserve this part of the history of the city of Yorkton.


Award recipients will be formally celebrated and given their awards at a ceremony prior to the first three Council Meetings in 2022. Each category winner will receive a plaque and a $100 gift card sponsored by the Yorkton Legacy Co-op.